What To Do Before Upgrading To The New Line Of Macs

Mac

Last July, Apple introduced its updated MacBook Pro lineup. With Intel’s 8th-generation processors and True Tone display among other upgrades, these new units without a doubt, made patrons excited to avail themselves of a Mac upgrade. If you’re now decided to ditch your old Mac for one of the new ones, we suggest you hold on and don’t dive in just yet. There are some preparation measures you need to take, mainly if you want to make the switch as seamless as possible. Furthermore, if you’re going to pass on your old Mac to a new user, you’d also want to erase all traces of your data on it. So, without further ado, let’s see how you can best prepare for the upgrade.

Step 1. Back up your Mac.

It is especially important if you are entrusting your old Mac to a new owner and if you want to transfer your data to your new Mac. There are several ways to back up a Mac, which we have discussed in a previous article. You can choose among bootable backup, live backup, remote backup, or Time Machine backup. After you’ve completed your backup, make sure you secure and protect your drive, as doing so also means protecting your data. We also suggest you create at least two backups, just in case one gets corrupted–hopefully not!

Step 2. Sign out of iCloud and other services and accounts.

One of the most important things to do before disposing of your old Mac laptop is to log out of EVERYTHING: iCloud, iMessage, and all other online accounts that you might have, such as OneDrive and Dropbox, among other apps and services.

Step 3. Deauthorize your old Mac in programs and services.

While you can deauthorize devices that you are no longer using in the future, it will be best if you deauthorize your current Mac now before you hand it over to a new owner. To do this, open the program, say, iTunes, where you will have to go to Account > Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer. Now, check all other apps you’ve been using on your Mac and see if you need to do the same.

Step 4. Erase your old Mac.

Now that you’ve backed up your data and signed out of services and programs, it’s time to delete everything on your drive, just follow these steps:

  • Go to Applications > Utilities.
  • Select a hard drive you want to erase. Click Erase.
  • You will be asked to name the drive once its contents are deleted. You will also be asked how you want to format it.
  • Click Security Options, then choose how thoroughly you want to delete the drive. The default option is fastest, but you’d want to go for the more advanced options this time. If you were using a cleaner app such as Outbyte MacRepair, then the process could be faster, since junk files have been kept to a minimum.

Now, you’re ready to let go of your old Mac. Make sure you take good care of your new MacBook Pro to make the most of its new features and installing Outbyte MacRepair can with that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *